Book Genre: Humor and Comedy

Cover art
John Scalzi
Colleen
4

Fans of both Star Trek and Galaxy Quest will enjoy this homage to 60s sci fi tv shows. The story revolves around Ensign Dahl, newly assigned to the starship Intrepid, who notices that all the low-ranking officers never come back from away missions. Is it bad luck? Or something more...

Cover art
Jim Gaffigan
Em
4

I picked up this book because I wanted to give audiobooks another chance. I figured this would be a safe choice since it’s read by Jim Gaffigan, and I already know I love listening to Jim Gaffigan. There’s certainly no one else I would be willing to listen to talk about parenthood. Some of this...

Cover art
Bob Shea
Em
5

This book was awesome. I mean, really, a jealous goat  and a “show-off” unicorn become best friends and realize their own strengths and weaknesses? Aw, right? And the illustrations are ridiculous and hilarious. They’re also straightforward and vibrant in a way sure to appeal to young...

Cover art
Carrie Fisher
Emily
3

Talk about honest and humor! It is amazing that Fisher writes about how crazy she is with the expectation, nay the hope, that you will laugh at her and not with her! This is definitely a roller coaster of a read, there are highs and lows as she explores her bipolar disorder, her relationship...

Cover art
Jennifer Crusie
Colleen
4

Whenever I need a good laugh, I reach for a Jennifer Crusie novel. What the Lady Wants reminds me of an old screwball comedy, filled with witty repartee between the attractive hero and heroine who are destined to fall in love. But these characters are drawn more realistically than...

Cover art
Tina Fey
Jennifer
4

What a fun audiobook. Tina Fey reads her own memoir about breaking into comedy and acting and her experiences as a working mother. A nice, well-written, light read. I've only watched a couple of episodes of her television show 30 Rock, still I found her...

Cover art
Jan Thomas
Colleen
4

I love Jan Thomas' picture books: filled with repetition, primary colors and only a few words per page, they are great for the beginning reader--and their caregiver. Especially if you want to giggle! In Let's Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy, Thomas shows us it is okay to be afraid of the...

Cover art
Adams, Douglas
Adelina
5

I love "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy", the entire series. I love Douglas Adams' quirky British absurdist humor. 

On that note, I loved this radio play of "Life, the Universe and Everything." This is the third book in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series. The radio...

Cover art
Simon Tofield
KateM
5

I was first introduced to Simon’s Cat as a series of wordless animated videos when it started in 2008, but the book form loses none of the original charm. Capturing the essence of the curious, annoying, loving, bossy, and self-centered cat, Simon Tofield’s simple drawings could represent any cat...

Cover art
Allie Brosh
KateM
5

Allie Brosh was catapulted into internet fame when she started the blog/semi-autobiographical webcomic titled Hyperbole and a Half. You may recognize her work in the beast known as  “Alot” or the meme “____ ALL THE THINGS!”, or more recently, her apt and candid depiction of depression....

Cover art
Bill Bryson
KateM
4

I will admit to being a reluctant non-fiction reader, avoiding most books shelved with a Dewey number like the plague. However, I picked up Bill Bryson’s At Home on a whim once and discovered, at last, that not all non-fiction has to be dry and boring. I downloaded the audio version of I’m A...

Cover art
Terry Pratchett
Thane
3

Terry Pratchett leaves behind the usual fantasy trappings that have been the hallmark of his prolific body of work to venture into something new with Dodger. This book is essentially a piece of historical fiction set in streets (and sewers) of London in the early 1800's. Fictional liberties are...

Cover art
Justin Halpern
seanamo
3

While there weren't really any laugh out loud funny moments, like there was in Sh*t My Dad Says, Halpern does share some heartwarming and humorous anecdotes in his second book. I Suck at Girls documents vignettes along his journey from first kiss, through loss of virginity, to marriage proposal...

Cover art
D. E. (Dorothy Emily) Stevenson
April
4

Barbara Buncle is in a bind: her small but steady income has all but disappeared and she needs to find a way to make money fast.  She thinks writing a book might answer her financial problems, but as she is not very confident in her imagination, she decides to write only what she knows, and...

Cover art
Gail Carriger
Bobby
3

Vampires, werewolves, steampunk, and romance.  Any of these elements alone would typically have me scoffing without cracking open the cover.  But in an effort to expand my reading horizons and based on a colleague’s recommendation, I made it past my initial prejudices and enjoyed this...

Cover art
Rick Kirkman
Thane
5

Baby Blues is a good comic strip. It consistently delivers quality jokes on a daily basis. Its characters are engaging, sympathetic, and pretty funny. From time to time, it even pushes the boundaries of the strip format; particularly in its Sunday strips where the creators experiment with form...

Cover art
Justin Halpern
Lauren
2

Justin Halpern is more widely known for the Twitter feed and eventual book Sh*t My Dad Says. After his feed brought him fame, a book deal, and a TV show, he published I Suck at Girls, a humorous retrospective on his romantic life. From boyhood to his decision to propose to his...

Cover art
Jeffrey Brown
Angelita
4

I enjoyed the humor in this book. I am not an avid fan of Star Wars, but I am I do know enough references to understand some of the jokes in the books. I did find to be funnier than Darth Vader and Son. It's a quick read. It might even be entertaining for parents to share this with their...

Cover art
Francesco Marciuliano
seanamo
2

I wanted to like this more than I actually did. Certainly, the pictures of adorable kittens help, but I really was hoping for better poetry. There are a few gems - "Why are you screaming?" (a tale of a gift gone wrong), "Separation"(an emotional story of betrayal), "And now we know" (one cat's...

Cover art
Janet Evanovich
Adelina
5

Janet Evanovich is back to her fun, fast paced and laugh-out loud antics in the latest Stephanie Plum novel.

I am happy to say I enjoyed Takedown Twenty. It has a fresher take on my favorite characters. I love hanging out with the gang from Trenton once a year when her newest adventures...

Cover art
Adelina
3

Prairie Home Companion meets a modern who’s who of American writers and poets. This audio features comedic sketches from NPR’s Prairie Home Companion from Dave Barry, Billy Collins, Robert Bly, Allan Ginsberg and Calvin Trillin. The audio is two discs long that should have been edited down to...

Cover art
Julie Haas Brophy
Dana F
3

This book is based on the author's blog of the same name (I just discovered her additional blogs: sh*t my pets ruined, sh*t my husband ruined, and sh*t my wife ruined). I had no idea these blogs existed until I read the book. Their premise is: take a picture of something your kids/pets/spouse...

Cover art
Yael Kohen
Mandy M.
5

The exploration of the heated question are women funny is fully and hilariously discussed in We Killed: the rise of women in American comedy. First of all, the chapters are divided into eras of comedy and the corresponding comedians and themes. If anyone is looking for a specific American female...

Cover art
Ellen DeGeneres
Mandy M.
4

This audio book gets props for being the only audio book I have ever finished. I have trouble with the pacing of audio books and some of the narration is less than great. But since The funny thing is is narrated by Ellen DeGeneres, the author herself, it doesn't seem like as much meaning and...

Cover art
David Sedaris
Thane
4

David Sedaris is back to doing what he does best, telling hilarious stories of his life, his family, his friends, and the strange people and places he encounters along the way. Sedaris is sometimes petty, sometimes spiteful, occasionally deep and insightful, but always funny. Listening to the...