Book Genre: Science Fiction

Cover art
John Scalzi
Colleen
4

Fans of both Star Trek and Galaxy Quest will enjoy this homage to 60s sci fi tv shows. The story revolves around Ensign Dahl, newly assigned to the starship Intrepid, who notices that all the low-ranking officers never come back from away missions. Is it bad luck? Or something more...

Cover art
Paul Pope
Melody
4

Acropolis, a city plagued by monsters, has lost it’s last living hero, Haggard West. Battling Boy is a thirteen year old demigod sent to Acropolis to prove himself. Acropolis is eager for a new hero, but Battling Boy may not be up to the challenge. Luckily, Haggard West is survived by his...

Cover art
Brian K. Vaughan
Colleen
4

Adding to the beautiful weirdness that was Saga Volume 1, we catch up with our struggling young family of Marko, Alana and Hazel as they try to escape a galaxy-wide war. They must dodge freelance assassins, in-laws, exes, and a strange mutant baby the size of a planet. All of this is depicted in...

Cover art
Andy Weir
Becker
4

This fast-paced, high tension debut novel had me breathless at times, laughing at others. Astronaut  (and mechanical engineer, and botanist) Mark Watney has been abandoned on Mars after a scrubbed mission, presumed dead. He has some supplies, shelter, some food. But not enough of any of it...

Cover art
Margaret Atwood
Jennifer
5

What can I say? I love Margaret Atwood. It's been some time (2003) since Oryx and Crake, the first book in this trilogy, was released. I must say I was a bit fuzzy on all of the details of the first two books, which led to some...

Cover art
Kiersten White
Colleen
3

A good, fast read, especially for the 15 and up crowd. Two young girls are sent to a boarding school because they have psychic gifts, and realize too late that they are trapped. Annie is blind and vulnerable and her younger sister Fia will do anything she can--even kill--to protect her. The book...

Cover art
Meg Rosoff
Jennifer
4

A vague, yet moving apocalyptic tale set in not-too-distant-future England. Fifteen-year-old Daisy is sent from New York to England to live with her aunt and four cousins. There are brief mentionings that all is not right with the world,  but Daisy seems to have an initially awkward,...

Cover art
Adams, Douglas
Adelina
5

I love "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy", the entire series. I love Douglas Adams' quirky British absurdist humor. 

On that note, I loved this radio play of "Life, the Universe and Everything." This is the third book in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series. The radio...

Cover art
Robert A. (Robert Anson) Heinlein
Adelina
5

Highly, highly recommend.

"Citizen of the Galaxy" is a coming of age Science Fiction adventure across the galaxy.

Thorby is first introduced to us standing on the slavery selling block on the planet Jubbal. We follow Thorby from being a young, defiant mistreated slave boy to his...

Cover art
Amie Kaufman
Angelita
3

After finishing this book, I realized that this was a part of a series. It's the first of trilogy, second book should be published in late 2014 and the third in 2015. So this is a good place to start. 

This is a science fiction/fantasy novel that might appeal a little more the girls...

Cover art
Paolo Bacigalupi
Jennifer
3

It's a book about zombies...I mean, it's a book about factory farming...I mean...

This book is an unusual combination of topics, but the story is pretty enjoyable, if you like books about kids fending off packs of zombies. Bacigalupi's other books are probably better known, and in my...

Cover art
David Almond
Ryan
3

At times brilliant and devastating, and at other times languid to the point of 'where is this going?!', The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean is a dark, messy book about violence, miracles, love, and death.

Almond is great at creating setting; here the locale is Blinkbonny, the ruins of...

Cover art
Nick Harkaway
Becker
4

I listened to this one on the recommendation of a colleague, and it was the perfect cure for a gray winter day! Clockwork, rogue scientists, spies, mysterious trains, men who want to be gods and ancient alliances of thieves all come together for a fun mystery/road trip. At times I got a bit...

Cover art
Grant Morrison
Thane
5

Grant Morrison is a legendary writer in modern comic books. Along with his contemporaries, Alan Moore and Neil Gaiman, Morrison is credited as being one of the key creators responsible for causing American comic books to "grow up." His seminal work on Animal Man and Doom Patrol, pushed the...

Cover art
Jeffrey Brown
Angelita
4

I enjoyed the humor in this book. I am not an avid fan of Star Wars, but I am I do know enough references to understand some of the jokes in the books. I did find to be funnier than Darth Vader and Son. It's a quick read. It might even be entertaining for parents to share this with their...

Cover art
Octavia E Butler
Lauren
4

As someone with little to no experience reading science fiction, I find myself pretty blown away by Octavia E. Butler's Parable of the Sower. This novel is gripping, heart-wrenching, and terrifying.

Parable of the Sower is told from the diary entries of Lauren Olamina, a...

Cover art
Robert Kirkman
kmcfall
3

For those who are not aware of Robert Kirkman's Walking Dead series, it follows the standard zombie apocalypse storyline. Sheriff Rick Grimes awakes in the hospital after being shot on the job. Only he awakes to find the place trashed, scavenged, and empty of staff and other patients. His first...

Cover art
Cory Doctorow
Michael
2

Little Brother is the 2008 novel by Cory Doctorow (editor of BoingBoing.net). Little Brother won the 2009 Prometheus Award, Sunburst Award, and John W. Campbell Memorial Award.

In the wake of a terrorist attack in San Francisco, the Department of Homeland Security's...

Cover art
Drew Karpyshyn
Mandy M.
4

This book is a pretty good read, and great for anyone who has questions after playing the first mass effect game. I think they go great together. But it's definitely a good stand alone novel as well if you aren't the video game type.

Revelation has all the components of a solid science...

Cover art
Harlan Ellison
Lily
2

The highlights of this sci-fi graphic novel include some beautiful art as the characters experience travel through space-time and an alien population of lizard people who humorously call humans "sweat-drippers." There are creative moments in Seven Against Chaos, but the characters and storyline...

Cover art
Caragh M O'Brien
Shanna
3

Gaia is a sixteen-year-old midwife, unlucky enough to live outside The Wall, apart from the privileged, comfortable citizens of The Enclave.  It is her duty to hand over the first three babies she delivers each month-babies who are destined to be adopted by waiting parents in The Enclave....

Cover art
Octavia E Butler
Shanna
5

I'll have to admit it-for the staff reading challenge, I put off my science fiction selection until nearly the end! In fact, until this particular book, I was firmly convinced that science fiction wasn't for me.  Can you believe that?  What if I missed this fantastic book...

Cover art
Brian Wood
Becker
4

Mara is a volleyball superstar in a near future world where sports heroes revered even more than they are now. Everyone knows her name, her stats, her face (and her sponsors). When she starts to show more than human abilities, everyone turns on her--is she cheating, deceiving the world? Pulled...

Cover art
Ann Leckie
extra medium
5

Bren is not as she has always been. Once a sentient spaceship with many human bodies to inhabit, she is now in just one body, alone, angry, and in mourning. Told with flashbacks moving along in time with the current situation, you come to understand the politics and scope of a well imagined...

Cover art
Paolo Bacigalupi
mmcgowan
4

Nailer, a teenage boy, works on a ship breaking down parts on a boat which could be a dangerous job.His nickname is "lucky boy" because he survives an accident.  A few days later he meets a beautiful and wealthy girl in which he saves her life so she is known as "lucky girl."  A...