Getting Started
Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.
Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings
Books/Print Resources at DPL
Special Collections and Archives Resources
The Special Collections and Archives at the Central Library focus on Colorado and the West, including the Tenth Mountain Division, Conservation history, and the history of Denver, and feature many primary source materials.
The Special Collections and Archives at the Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library focus on African American history and culture in Colorado and the West, and also feature many primary source collections.
Items from these two locations do not check out and are available to see during the hours we are open. Our Special Collections staff are available to assist by phone and email and can provide scans of collection items for your project. To determine which of these two locations is best for your project, email history@denverlibrary.org and include "National History Day" in your subject line. You may also call 720-865-1821 (Central) or 720-865-2401 (Blair-Caldwell).
Database/Online Resources
Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources. The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.
Black Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and Black culture, history, politics, and the arts. Each of the Historical Black Newspapers provides access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle.
Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S. (ProQuest)
Primary source documents including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history
New York Times Database Collection
New York Times Database Collection:
- Coverage: 1980 - present
- Full-text articles of the New York Times newspaper, including today’s issue.
Search includes these New York Times publications, with various date coverages: The Daily (Podcast), New York Times Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Book Review, New York Times Español, New York Times Magazine, New York Times (Online), New York Times (Video).
New York Times Scanned Newspapers
- Coverage: 2008 - recent (up to 3-months ago)
- Full-page color scans of the New York Times provides researchers, genealogists, and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Full-text searchable.
- Coverage: 1851 - 2018
- Full-text and images in PDF format of the New York Times. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Ethnic Diversity Source (Ebsco)
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Search full-text articles, historical documents, biographies, maps and photos. Great for students of history. Classic version.
Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries
As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.
Internet Sources
Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.
Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project
- Phone us, 720-865-1363
- Chat with us online with the Ask Us! Service
- Meet with us in person or online to work one-on-one with a librarian