The Proclamation Line of 1763

National History Day
2023 Guides - Theme: Frontiers in History: People, Places, Ideas
Proclamation Line of 1763

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Royal Proclamation of 1763
Pontiac's Rebellion
Neolin
Causes of American Revolution
Appalachian history 18th century
Appalachian settlers 18th century
Treaty of Fort Stanwix (1768)
Treaty of Fort Stanwix (1784)
Treaty of Hard Labour (1768)
Treaty of Lochaber (1770)
Indian Reserve - 1763
Lord Dunmore's War
Treaty of Augusta (1773)
British -- North America -- History -- 18th century
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Causes
Frontier and pioneer life -- Appalachian Region
Frontier and pioneer life -- United States
United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Indians of North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775

Books/Print Resources at DPL

Native Americans in the American Revolution: How the War Divided, Devastated, a…
Colonial America to 1763
Frontier Rebels: The Fight for Independence in the American West, 1765-1776
The Creek Frontier, 1540-1783
50 Events That Shaped American Indian History: An Encyclopedia of the American …
Handbook of North American Indians. Volume 4, History of Indian-White Relations

Special Collections and Archives Resources

The Special Collections and Archives at the Central Library focus on Colorado and the West, including the Tenth Mountain Division, Conservation history, and the history of Denver, and feature many primary source materials. 

The Special Collections and Archives at the Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library focus on African American history and culture in Colorado and the West, and also feature many primary source collections.

Items from these two locations do not check out and are available to see during the hours we are open. Our Special Collections staff are available to assist by phone and email and can provide scans of collection items for your project. To determine which of these two locations is best for your project, email history@denverlibrary.org and include "National History Day" in your subject line. You may also call 720-865-1821 (Central) or 720-865-2401 (Blair-Caldwell). 

Atlas of Westward Expansion
Chronicle of the Indian Wars: From Colonial Times to Wounded Knee
Wilderness at Dawn: The Settling of the North American Continent

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources. The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Sample Articles
Proclamation of 1763 (Primary Source)
Analysis: Royal Proclamation of 1763
Chapter 6: Separate Creations. From Facing East from Indian Country: A Native History of Early America, 2001

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

​​As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

Keeping Promises: The Royal Proclamation of 1763, Aboriginal Rights, and Treati…
The Complete DVD History of U.S. Wars: 1700-2004
Term Paper Resource Guide to American Indian History
The Indian Boundary in the Southern Colonies, 1763-1775
American Indian Treaties: A Guide to Ratified and Unratified Colonial, United S…

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

The Genesis of the Proclamation of 1763
Historical background of the Proclamation, including its text. (Read before the Michigan Pioneer and Historical Society on Dec. 13, 1907, by Clarence W. Alvord.) Public domain.
Anglo-Indian Relations in North America to 1763 and an Analysis of the Royal Pr…
"Firstly, an attempt is made to briefly highlight the history of Anglo-Indian relations to the middle of the eighteenth century ... Secondly, there is an examination of the events and circumstances surrounding the formulation and issuance of the royal Proclamation of 7 October 1763"--Author's preface

WorldCat item, available through interlibrary loan.
How the Proclamation of 1763 Sparked the American Revolution
History.com article explaining the role of the Proclamation in creating the colonials' disaffection with the British Crown.
1768 Boundary Line Treaty of Fort Stanwix
National Park Service resource on this controversial pact. See linked pages for information on other treaties signed at this fort.
The Ohio Indians and the Coming of the American Revolution in Virginia
In the The Journal of Southern History, Volume 60(3), August, 1994.

WorldCat item, available through interlibrary loan.
The Proclamation Line
An explanation of the origin and history of the Proclamation Line.
Proclamation Line of 1763, Quebec Act of 1774, and Westward Expansion
An outline of the rationale for the Proclamation Line and of associated events, by the Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State.
Neolin's Vision
An account of the life and teachings of the Lenni Lenape (Delaware) visionary Neolin, who urged Native Americans to purify themselves by separating completely from European influences.
Historic Indian Tribes of Ohio
A description of the history and culture of the five major tribes of Ohio (Shawnee, Miami, Delaware, Ottawa, and Wyandot). Published by the Ohio Historical Society. (Some sources include the Seneca as a sixth major tribe.)

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project